When Scleroderma Becomes Mixed Connective Tissue Disease

In following my post about my change in diagnosis,I must explain a few things.  When I was first diagnosed with Scleroderma, they also diagnosed me with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA) and Sjogren’s Syndrome, two other autoimmune diseases.  Have a significant amount of multiple autoimmune diseases is called Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD).  The JRA and Sjogren’s became fairly irrelevant to my health by the time I had completed 10 years of treatment.  The Scleroderma has stuck with me.

Now, I apparently have MCTD again as my immune system is attacking my liver.  Unfortunately, this can spread to my heart and lungs if left untreated which can be fatal.  So now we’re back to heavy duty treatment and constant monitoring.  This is what I DIDN’T want to happen.  I didn’t want to go through another process of treatment that could take years.  I don’t know if I’m ready for this, but I have to be.  I’m trying to take it one day at a time.

Secondly, this morning, I found out that my perforation from my septoplasty is not healing and I will need more surgery to close the hole.  It seems more invasive because this time they have to make an incision on the front of my septum and one on the side of my skull.  They are going to be using jaw muscle (from my head) to help stabilize and fill the hole.  S-C-A-R-Y!

I will have staples, stitches, and splints.  Can’t wait.  : (

Leave a Reply

