Day 9/30: My First Love

I guess you could say my first love started in high school.  He was one of my best friends and I had a little crush on him, but I didn’t think much more of it.  He dated other girls and I didn’t mind.  I dated other guys.  As we kept in touch over the years, our relationship changed.  We were 21 now, and a movie hang out turned into a date with hand holding and a kiss good night.

I was excited, blinded, and maybe even happy for a couple years. I thought he was everything I wanted/needed.   He eventually moved away and we tried a long distance relationship.  I had a blast visiting him.  But eventually things died down and I never heard from him again.

For me, being 21 and 22, was almost the same as still being a teenager.  I really thought it was going to work out.  I really thought I wanted to marry him, but I’m so glad I didn’t.  I wouldn’t have been happy and I wouldn’t have my wonderful husband that I have now.

Leave a Reply

